The church dedicated to St. John the Baptist rises in Pianizza di Sopra, which has been a district of Caldaro since the 18th century
Image gallery: St. John Church in Pianizza di Sopra
- Map See map
- See video
- See panorama
- See panorama
The construction of the current church of the district of Pianizza di Sopra (Oberplanitzing) dates back to the years between 1581 and 1586. It was built in late-Gothic, partly Renaissance-like style and provided with a highly visible red roof. Once upon a time, monasteries such as Tegernsee and Wilten owned large vineyards and manors in Pianizza di Sopra, located right beneath Mt. Macaion at approx. 500 m a.s.l. Also a second church could be found here until its decay: the St. George Church, first mentioned in 1237 and closed by Joseph II, Holy Roman Emperor, in 1786.
The above mentioned dates of the church are still visible today at the keystone of the choir (1581) and at the southern entrance 1586). The sacred building is dedicated to St. John the Baptist, usually depicted with a camel-skin robe and the papal ferula: his patrocinium is celebrated on June 24. The high altar, however, contains an altarpiece which was donated by the abbot of Tegernsee, Petrus von Guetrather, and realised by the artist Johann Degler (1666 - 1729) of Funes.
And how to reach the St. John the Baptist Church - "Kirche St. Johannes der Täufer" in German, "Chiesa di San Giovanni Battista" in Italian? It rises in Pianizza di Sopra, which features a parking space as well as a bus stop. By foot, a pleasant walk leads from Caldaro village in about 1.5 hours to Pianizza di Sopra, and makes you discover the beautiful landscape characterised by vineyards and the wine culture of Caldaro.
accessible only during church services (e.g. at the patrocinium and on Easter Monday)